Valiente College Preparatory Charter School Accountability, Courage, Tenacity, Service

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Valiente Parents/Guardians, Remember to review your child(s) behavioral report every Thursday night!

Our Team

Dr. Esther Perez, Executive Director & Principal - Dr. Perez brings more than 13 years of experience in education to Valiente. She grew up in Central California and was the first in her family to graduate from a university as she received a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from the University of California, San Diego. In 2004, she joined Teach For America, Los Angeles, where she taught multiple subjects in a special day class setting at Nimitz Middle School in Huntington Park. After obtaining a masters degree in Special Education from Loyola Marymount University (LMU), she became a Resource Specialist at Oscar de la Hoya HS in East Los Angeles. She has served as the Director of Students with Diverse Abilities (Special Education & EL students) for Bright Star Schools for approximately 4 years and then moved to higher education at LMU where she was the Director of Special Education Interns across the state of California for LMU's multiple campuses as well as the Associate Director of the LMU-TFA LA Partnership. Esther also holds a Masters degree in Educational Leadership & Policy Studies from California State University, Northridge, and completed a Doctorate in Educational Leadership & Social Justice at Loyola Marymount University. Dr. Perez has made it her mission to ensure that the students of Valiente, the city of South Gate, and its surrounding communities continue to have school options with high expectations, valuing of culture and identity, as well as a place that truly develops children and families to love learning with goals towards loving humanity, college and beyond.
 
Jacob Wertz, Founder
The Valiente community and team thanks Mr. Wertz for founding our school. Although no longer the Executive Director as of January 2016, he is appreciated for his continual support in the growth and development of the school.

Staff Emails:
 
Mrs. Delgadillo (4th & 5th grade teacher) - ldelgadillo@valientecollegeprep.org

Ms. Iverson (4th & 5th grade teacher) - riverson@valientecollegeprep.org

Ms. Aguilar (6th grade teacher & DCI) - aaguilar@valientecollegeprep.org

Ms. Carvajal (6th grade teacher) - bcarvajal@valientecollegeprep.org

Mrs. Parker (6th grade teacher) - kparker@valientecollegeprep.org 

Mr. Acosta (After School Program) - aacosta@valientecollegeprep.org

Mr. Guevara (PE Teacher) - mguevara@valientecollegeprep.org

Ms. Hernandez (Admin Assistant) - hhernandez@valientecollegeprep.org

Ms. Montante (Operations Director) - amontante@valientecollegeprep.org

Mr. Ng (Enrichment Teacher) kng@valientecollegeprep.org

Mrs. Olvera (Learning Specialist & Coordinator) aolvera@valientecollegeprep.org

Dr. Perez (Executive Director & Principal) eperez@valientecollegeprep.org